What about foods for cancer or to prevent cancer?

The Human Body -- Cancer

The Human Body — Cancer (Photo credit: n0cturbulous)

Without really realizing it, all of us have cells in our bodies that are predisposed to cancer. Everything that makes up our world then affects whether or not those cells grow or die; whether we get cancer or we don’t.

In order to act as a preventative, several foods work in our favor as opposed to feeding the cancer cells residing within us. Foods like acai, agave, almonds, amaranth, apples, apricots, asparagus and avocado – and that is just the foods that begin with the letter ‘A’ (from the index of 101 Foods That Could Save Your Life).

As children, many of us are picky eaters, but as we grow and learn, we should really be open to foods that can benefit us as we ingest them as well as keep up healthy for the future. If we do not try different things, how are we ever going to know that we do or do not like them?

As a caregiver, it is extremely important to me to fix fresh foods for those in my care. I especially thrive on providing a well-balanced diet with all of the major food groups. Of course I attention to the medications that have been prescribed so that I provide the right balance of foods for my seniors so the medications work as they are meant to.

Summer and fall are especially good times to get fresh fruit and veg. I used to love to watch the program on BBC, You Are What You Eat. I knew then that my love of sweets could affect my overall lifestyle, so I tend to curb – just as I do with those in my care. That is particularly the reason I chose With Age Comes Respect as my motto.

Keep on keeping on caregivers and study up on what foods are best for those in your care!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

