Holidays and weekends for the elderly

It is always my hope that a holiday weekend will bring family and friends to those that I care for. Of course, for the most part, I am contracted to visit at least one of my wards over the holiday (not weekends however). I always wonder how they will eat when I am not there.

It depends on the family situation as to how the senior is fed, what foods are available and such. Some families feel that the senior can select their own foods based on their own biases, some feed them what they like, some say, ‘what the heck, they are old, let them eat to their heart’s desire,’ while a select few want their family member to maintain a healthy, balanced diet so that they are around and healthy as long as possible.

Good eating will do that for a person. If all they eat is sweets and pre-prepared foods, their bodies go into hyper-drive and they feel sluggish and not well. However, if they are getting all of the food groups in healthy ratios and then adding on a sugary snack (if not harmful to them), they most likely feel more alive and well.

When I am with my contracted people, I do whatever I can to ensure their health and well-being. If this means I cook, I am the happier for it! My job is to display that With Age Comes Respect. I only wish I could be sure the same is happening when I am away.

English: 1943 USDA nutrition chart showing the...

English: 1943 USDA nutrition chart showing the “Basic 7” food groups. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

