Endearing stories of the elderly

As a caregiver, I sincerely appreciate the fact that I get to be a part of (albeit a much later part) of my elder’s lives. I get to hear stories that, through my vivid imagination, places me back in time to experience the same events. This is something that I would have otherwise missed out on; the fun, excitement, emotional roller coaster stories that have made up my ward’s lives.

How many of you know a person that was ‘persona non grata’? How many have ridden the first non-stop train from Chicago to Louisiana? How many have been married 63 years and are still in love? How many got married at midnight after getting a letter from their mother that it was indeed okay to marry?

I have known all of these fascinating individuals and have learned what it is like to laugh and love and cry and try to forget. Two of my seniors have buried their own children. I hope to never have that experience but try to relate their sadness to the fact that I have had five miscarriages.

These stories are unequaled. They are a gift; a bonus that is worth way more than any money in the world.  Knowing that With Age Comes Respect gets me way more than most people will ever receive. I am just so very lucky!

Me&Audrey

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

