One year and counting

Audrey and I have achieved a huge milestone! On Thursday, September 5th, we have been together through Time to Care for one whole year. This is a wonderful achievement and one that I am truly honored to be a part of.

When I made the decision to serve others, it was because I saw a need all around. I witnessed a woman having to pay exorbitant fees to a taxi company to get treatment at a doctor’s office twice each week. That is when I decided to put my hand in the game.

It was actually months later that my dream and goals of starting my own elderly care service began to take shape. My first client was my friend Linda’s mother Mira. Mira and I soon discovered that we were ‘kindred spirits’ and spent a great deal of time together – each for our own selfish reason I suppose. When Mira passed on four days before Christmas, my heart was broken.

In the meantime, Audrey became my client. We were a little slower to warm up together, but once the fire started, we blaze!

Then came Ed and Marcy. Ed got ill and I was no longer able to provide service to him. He passed away shortly after Mira and again my heart broke. Marcy was another story altogether, though. She wanted help, but didn’t; was pleasant to your face, but behind your back was truly condescending; she was a Christian that acted like one of Jesus’s condemners. I walked away from that unhealthy relationship.

Jesus

photo shared from dvrbible.wordpress.com

After a bit, I only got to care for Audrey for awhile. I think this was God’s way of bringing two needy souls together. Now we are practically inseparable.

While I now have Stella to care for and love as well, Audrey and I are very close. She has taught me love beyond all understanding; gratefulness for the small things; compassion above all. I am so grateful that I have been blessed with a full year of this lovely woman’s true commitment to life. I thank God daily for the gift of Audrey and all of the other seniors that I hope will cross my path.

I have found my way in this life through service and commitment to others and I will live by my motto that With Age Comes Respect because I truly believe that and will display that to others in every way that I know how!

Happy Anniversary Audrey. I love you!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care, Friendship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

