What? No olive oil anymore?

After browsing the December 2013/January 2014 AARP Magazine (yes, still young, I do find the articles and recipes quite informative; in fact, I am looking forward to receiving the Magazine for myself one of these days), I found a recipe that I would like to try out on my father. Dad is diabetic and the recipe is good for those with diabetes.

What shocked me was when I was discussing the recipe with one of my employees, that I learned that if you cook with olive oil that the oil turns into a trans-fat once it is heated. She suggested that I try cooking with coconut oil instead. Coconut oil does not turn into a trans-fat when heated.

So, I bought some. I think I have to get used to using it though as it is lighter than most oils and tends to dissipate quite quickly although there is no variation in taste and the food I cooked seemed less oily, too (except for the fact that I did add butter to the recipe, too!). I find that it is always good to try healthy suggestions when cooking – especially for the older crowd. It just goes hand-in-hand with the concept of With Age Comes Respect and helping elders to live better as they live longer falls right in line with that idea!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

