The positives and negatives of caregiving

When I initially meet with family members about what they would like to see me doing with their elders, I always get a negative vibe. Their parents are too much work for them. Their lives are too busy to deal with all the issues their parents are having. Their parents are grabby – good luck!

When I sit down with the elders, I get another vibe completely. They are remorseful that they are putting their children through such hassle. They wish that they could still do everything for themselves. They feel stuck because they can no longer drive. They hurt and don’t feel well. They miss the good times with their family members because they are such a burden!

This is where I feel that I shine. I listen! I understand – as much as I possibly can because there is no way I actually know how they physically or emotionally feel! I do little things with them – from the boring and mundane to the frightening and wary. I am just there because I believe in my heart that With Age Comes Respect!

The most negative thing that happens is when I am no longer capable of caring for one of my seniors. I feel as though I have lost a piece of me – because I have.

Caregiving for elders certainly does have its ups and downs. In the then, though, it gives such a sense of achievement like many will never know. I love it and plan to continue on my quest because I have Time to Care!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

