Sometimes just what they need

Elders don’t always know how to tell us just how lonely they are. I remember when my mother found my grandmother’s journal that she wrote in daily. Grandma had very bad dementia; most likely the worst type out there.

Every day she would write practically the same thing. “No one came to see me today. I am so lonely.”

Now we could have all traveled from all of our living destinations to spend her birthday with her and she would forget and write this same statement, but no matter, it hurt no less. In her mind, we were not there and that leaves a mark on those left behind!

I never want my elders to feel this way, that is why I get down and dirty with them. I try to find out their deepest, darkest secrets and then I use those secrets in a positive way to reinforce our relationship.

Even though this works most of the time, I am still not in the elders’ league; meaning that although we may be true friends, I am a new friend and they miss spending time with people their own age. This is where I need to get insightful and devise ways to get them out and about with their own crowd.

I am ready and willing to do anything to enhance the lives of my clients. I can and I will to display that I know that With Age Comes Respect!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

