Switching to the senses

I have been doing constant research since I began writing this blog. I find it interesting and very helpful to realize all of the changes that the human body goes through. When I do the research, I learn how to be a better caregiver because I can implement what I learn into my day-to-day activities with my clients.

Take for instance how our senses change as we age. The evident changes would be sight and hearing, but the other senses change, too. Over the next few days, I will review some of the changes and how they affect elders.

Let’s begin at the beginning as in the little kids song ‘Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes,’ but I will concentrate on the verse, ‘Eyes and Ears and Mouth and Nose.’

Our eyes are our windows to the world. If you had asked me about my sight before say the age of 45, I would have told you that I had perfect vision. Somewhere smack dab in the middle of that statement I would have been floored as right about that time my eyes began weakening. I couldn’t believe it.

This year at the optometrist I was told that if I did not have my left eye I would most likely be considered legally blind. What a load of crap I thought! Then I studied the changes that take place in our senses.

Tomorrow I will begin the lecture about our changing eyes. Maybe then you will be able to understand better, too.

Not that we like the changes, but understanding them helps caregivers display that we know that With Age Comes Respect!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

