Our eyes are so important!

As we age, our vision, also known as our visual acuity will decline with time. As I am now quite aware, the close-up vision is what is affected first. Without my glasses, I cannot see anything that is not across the room from me. What I have learned upon doing research is that this condition is termed presbyopia.

Many people can solve this issue by going to the local drugstore and purchasing a pair of ‘readers.’ Unfortunately, I am not one of those people. I have prescription glasses; bifocals to be exact in order to read and work on the computer. So far I can tell you that my glasses have not helped one bit with my presbyopia, although they may help others just fine.

Glare is an issue for many people, making it tough to get around indoors. It is also tough for some people to drive because of the glare from oncoming vehicles. Darkness is tough, too!

Colors may become an issue. Sometimes it is though we become color blind, not being able to depict subtleties; sometimes the color issues are much more drastic. In order to counteract these issues, the NIH recommends that a red light in a hall or bathroom at night works better than a regular nightlight.

All of this is good to know as it helps caregivers display that With Age Comes Respect!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment