Let’s go over the phases of grief

According to http://www.hospicenet.org, the various stages of grief are as follows:
The process of bereavement may be described as having four phases:

1. Shock and numbness: Family members find it difficult to believe the death; they feel stunned and numb.

2. Yearning and searching: Survivors experience separation anxiety and cannot accept the reality of the loss. They try to find and bring back the lost person and feel ongoing frustration and disappointment when this is not possible.

3. Disorganization and despair: Family members feel depressed and find it difficult to plan for the future. They are easily distracted and have difficulty concentrating and focusing.

4. Reorganization.
Sometimes the individual left behind need to be treated with some type of counseling. Again, http://www.hospicenet.org has a list of goals for grief counseling to which the loved ones of my clients can adhere to. These include:
• Helping the bereaved to accept the loss by helping him or her to talk about the loss.
• Helping the bereaved to identify and express feelings related to the loss (for example, anger, guilt, anxiety, helplessness, and sadness).
• Helping the bereaved to live without the person who died and to make decisions alone.
• Helping the bereaved to separate emotionally from the person who died and to begin new relationships.
• Providing support and time to focus on grieving at important times such as birthdays and anniversaries.
• Describing normal grieving and the differences in grieving among individuals.
• Providing continuous support.
• Helping the bereaved to understand his or her methods of coping. Identifying coping problems the bereaved may have and making recommendations for professional grief therapy.
By introducing my clients and their family members to these rules of the road, then I am displaying that not only does With Age Come Respect but respect to all fellow human beings should be displayed at all times by a caregiver like me!


About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s