Sometimes their pain becomes mine! (Posted late on February 1st from January 31st)

Although I am young, I am still very human. I never claim that what I do is an easy task. In fact, there are times when what I do smashes right into my personal life and I feel distress aplenty. At this point, there are many caregivers that would walk away. I turn and head right smack dab into the chaos.
I love what I do and the people I care for. They are truly like family to me. Many of these elders actually remind me of my boys when they were younger. The issue for these people is that they are not able to learn and absorb life any longer like my boys did. My boys were sponges; soaking up all of life to be had. Unfortunately for many elders, their days of absorption are over. Now they are leaking life like a sieve. I am the one to catch the remainder of what is left and to help it leak slower; help them to retain what small amount of their past is left so that they have dignity still when it is their time to go.
Is it easy? You bet it is not, but then nothing worth doing or having or loving ever is. Sometimes I have to dig down low in order to show them best that With Age Comes Respect.

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

