A bit burnt out this week!

Although I love my clients, I am working endlessly so that I can forget my own personal pain. Nonetheless, I am still burnt out. I feel like and empty shell of my former self and all I can do is keep pushing past the pain so that it does not affect my clients as this would not be fair to them!
They are all sweet and kind elders that deserve to know that no matter what that I believe they deserve to be shown With Age Comes Respect. An elderly caregiver has to push on no matter what and has to prioritize. Of course, just like with children, one must temper how much to say, how to act, and emotions are appropriate to share.
If I did not think that I could do my clients’ justice, I would take a step back for fairness and equity are just two of the factors I seek for every aging individual I come across. I think that seniors have plenty to deal with without having to deal with their caregiver’s personal issues.
Of course I appreciate their love and support but it is my place to help them, not vice versa. I know it will take me some time to get over this mountain of pain, but I do know that each day (whether I can see it right now or not), it will get a bit easier. I just hope that I can continue to smile through the pain!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

