Government Training (Posted late on 04/26 from 04/25)

I hate to be the bearer of bad news for anyone wanting to break into the elderly care business, but three times a year you have to train with an agency for four hours at a time per government regulations. Now this would not be so bad, but after hearing the same two or three topics over the past two plus years, the redundancy will kill you. Also, the trainers are not really trainers at all, but people from the agencies reading word-for-word off from a sheet of paper the same words that they read the last time. The tests taken are taken altogether so that everyone looks like they have passed and so that the agency looks like it is an incredible work source. PLEASE!!!!
I am not impressed nor do I fancy having to go through this type of nonsense three times a year for a total of 12 hours. I even stepped up to ask if I could do the training because I could really do a much better job in my sleep – especially considering that I taught college for 10 plus years.
Now I am not saying that I am perfect by any means, but for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction and at the end of every one of these trainings, there are a group of people that do nothing but bitch about the elderly that they are caring about!
Let me just say one thing. My agency is all about showing the elderly that With Age Comes Respect. Sadly enough so many people only think of themselves. I just want these individuals to know that they would NEVER work for me. I am all about the elders. I could care less about their selfish selves!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

