Ways I show respect in honor of Mother’s Day

Since many elders needing care in their homes are women (seven out of 10 of my clients have been women), I have a lot of celebrating to do when it comes to Mother’s Day. I try to find small ways to acknowledge each client. Since I am not with Marcy or Stella any more, I don’t have to do much there. My Myra will be in my prayers for she is in a much better place now.
I took Elsie a jar of pickled beets – her favorite. Ruthie is going to get some truffles. Liz some dark chocolate caramel Ghirardelli squares and I have yet to figure out what special little thing I can do for my Audrey. Whatever it is, I want it to be good since she and I have had such a long-lasting relationship. I want her (and all of the other ladies) to know that I believe that With Age Comes Respect.
Most caregivers do not even want to wash windows or hand-mop a floor so I doubt very much, based on their feelings and the salaries they receive, that most would even consider doing anything extra for those they are assigned to take care of. It is just another reason that I love owning Time To Care. I get to do what I want, when I want and no system can dictate it. I get to respect my elders in every way possible without any interference from the outside world!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

