Feeling guilt ridden

Today I woke again really early with massive amounts of stuff on my mind. I was supposed to go shopping once again, but I feel as though I am choking on my own air. I think that my brother’s death is finally getting to me and I today is the day that I break down.
Unfortunately for my client that I was supposed to take out shopping again today, I am having such a hard time dealing with the piles of stuff that I have to catch up on the business end of business plus the personal stuff, that I had to beg off and promise more for later. I know this does not sound very fair, but when you own your own elderly caregiving business and do the actual caregiving, there are times that the mind, body and soul become inundated and it is best to take a step back – even though financially this is not the helpful thing to do!
I feel very guilty; feel as though I am not living up to my motto to show my client that With Age Comes Respect, but it is better than me being distant, worried, or worse and simply snap at her. I don’t want to ever do that, so this is my best solution.
I will just simply have to get over the guilt and do whatever it takes to go another day. Sometimes the best position an elderly caregiver can put herself into is one of self respect for if you don’t love and respect yourself, there is absolutely no way you will ever love and respect your clients!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

