Trying to protect myself so that I can protect them (Posted late on 06/02 from 06/01)

My annual physical took place today. Just as I learned through the county during my training sessions, I asked about getting a tetanus booster (which I did) and I inquired about Hepatitis B and C. My physician told me that people in my age category are typically immune to Hep B. He could not really tell me why, just that I should look it up if I wanted to know more about it.
The clinical definition of immunity is defined as the protection against pathogens or infectious diseases. Immunity develops after antibodies to the disease are produced in the body. Types of immunity include innate, adaptive, active and passive.
Why the doctor told me that Baby Boomers are typically immune to Hepatitis B is yet to be discovered. Perhaps I will have my son check it out since he may know how to conduct the research better than I know how to do.
In the meantime, I will expect that what my doctor told me is true. I need to know these things so that I can fully display to my clients that With Age Comes Respect. It is the least I can do for them to prove to them just how very much that I do care!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

