I want to know what COPD is

In order to learn about all of the things that I lack medically and scientifically, I do research. I obtain information from the World Wide Web, from medical personnel and from other caregivers (to name but a few of my sources).
When the topic of COPD (Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease) was recently brought up, I knew it was time to hit the books (so to say) once again! Here is some of what I have learned:
• Approximately 15 million Americans have been diagnosed with COPD.
• Another estimated 12 million may have COPD but have not been diagnosed yet.
• 80-90% of all people diagnosed with COPD are smokers.
Once again, bad habits come into play, but as I reported earlier, COPD can also be caused by AAT (alpha-1 antitrypsin) and not even know that they have the deficiency. Although the number of people may only equal about 100,000, it is still worth knowing if you have ever had someone in your family diagnosed before.
By knowing these facts, I wanted to realize how COPD works, so I read on further. I know that when I breathe, air travels through tubes in my lungs. These tubes are called my airways. The airways transmit the air to millions of tiny air sacs. Healthy lungs allow the airways to open and the air sacs to fill with air. As the person breathes out, the air quickly disperses.
When an individual has COPD, it is harder to get air through the airways and into the lungs or air sacs. According to the website http://www.copd.com/about-copd/?rotation=71700000006631907&banner=58700000274916304&kw=4640344601&cc=us:p1114c00183:e1:w1:p25&pid=0344601&bing=e_, the two lung issues that COPS causes include:
1. “Chronic bronchitis” is increased cough and mucus production caused by inflammation of the airways. Bronchitis is considered chronic (or long-term) if a person coughs and produces excess mucus most days during three months in a year, for two years in a row.
2. “Emphysema” is associated with damage of the air sacs and/or collapse of the smallest breathing tubes in the lungs.
By knowing this data, I can refer back to the questions that my client’s daughter-in-law has and then further my studies. It is all in effort to show that With Age Comes Respect.

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

