Sometimes being a caregiver is a thankless job! (Posted late on 09/08 from 09/03)

Every once in a while, a caregiver has to take a good hard work at their career choice. This does not in any way, shape or form mean that it is the elder (or maybe it is…), but typically I have found it the attitude of the family that creates the misgivings.

There are times when I have to wonder what gets into these people’s heads. I would treat a caregiver for my loved ones with respect for many reasons. First and foremost is to protect my loved ones from any retribution. Professional caregivers will typically let things slide (as long as the situation does not repeat often), but there are some people in the business purely for money and they may just decide to take things out on an innocent!

Another reason is just pure respect. What a caregiver does is not typically the job of choice. I cannot tell you just how very many times I have heard from people, “You do that? Well there is not enough money in the world for me to do that type of job!”

Finally, just one more reason (although there are many reasons I would not upset my loved ones’ caregiver), is that I would not want to belittle myself by being rude to a person doing their utter best for someone I am not able to care for on a full-time basis.

If there ever is a time that I have a situation that upsets me, I have to Dare to Let Go of the situation and focus on the reason I do what I have chosen to do.

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

