The workers, the workers

So, I have expressed my utter disdain for convalescent centers (which used to be termed nursing homes). Part of my disdain goes toward the workers in these establishments.

Okay, perhaps I am way too hard on individuals that are indeed working, but do not always have the highest education level and get paid  approximately minimum wage. None of these qualifications are award winning to say the least, so I get why many of these individuals view their position as strictly a ‘job’ and could give two nickels to improve anything or to do their best work.

I guess my parents taught me differently. They taught me that no matter what I do in life, I should do my very best at it.

In addition, my religious beliefs established some very deep-seeded notions that every human life resembles the life of Christ and is important, thus I do my very best to show each individual in my path that they are indeed important. This is especially true for my elderly clients!

There is no way that I would treat those I service as just a number like many of the people in these public foundations seem to. In fact, it is quite disappointing to me – although not utterly unexpected. After all, their heart and mind are not in sync. They obviously do not believe in my mantra of With Age Comes Respect for if they did, they would also care about themselves enough to treat others with respect.

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

