Love once strong, lost to time – (Posted late on 01/31 from 01/27)

As I was stipulating in yesterday’s post, a big depression scenario can possibly begin with losing a life partner. Just thinking about some of the stories that I have heard over the years, I begin to tear up!

Let me tell you about one couple in particular. I never got to take care of the lady of the house because she had an accident and fell in her home, thus increasing her Alzheimer’s disease to disastrous levels and leaving her in the care of an Alzheimer’s facility.

While this woman was perfectly happy in her new home setting, her husband was not quite the same ever again! Let me explain further.

This couple was still madly in love – even after 63 years of marriage! And, while I only worked for the man a couple of times and took him some food and took in his garbage cans, I was grateful to hear their ‘love’ story!

They had a biological daughter and adopted a daughter as well. They had a happy, loving family. Unfortunately neither daughter lived in the area any longer, so it was quite literally just the two of them left to fend for each other.

This worked until the accident. Then, the man’s health went south – and fast. It did not seem to matter that the neighbors and I all tried to rally around him. He had one illness after another and ended up passing within a couple of months after his wife went into the home.

While very sad, it just proves that love is stronger than many of us will ever be able to imagine. That is why I do my very best day-after-day to show all my clients, married, single, widowed or whatever that I am there for them and I believe that With Age Comes Respect!

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

