Guilt is eating at me

I am feeling sincerely guilty about the fact that I did not take my client to Mass today. I would do anything for this woman, but sometimes I need to take a break, but seeing her walk into the church all alone, I felt a pang in my heart that stretched a mile wide!

You can tell that I take my responsibilities as a caregiver very seriously indeed. But, even I need to walk away for a few hours to ensure that I am fresh for the coming week.

It is certainly not that this lady is an issue, it is simply because I am a human being and if I have learned anything over the past three-and-a-half years, it is the fact that in order to take care of my clients, I have to take care of myself first and foremost.

There are times that I get too carried away with being a caregiver and I ignore the fact that I need to be true to myself. I am good at what I do, but if I burn out, how am I going to be able to show my clients each and every day that With Age Comes Respect and still be the very best that can be.

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

