Positive changes in a senior’s home

Depending on the senior that you are caring for will depend on how much you are able to help them. It all rides on the senior’s mind frame, the family’s input, the trust level you have developed with them and, of course, how much you are willing to research and do for the person you care for.

I determined at the outset of my business that I wanted to be a caregiver that gave 100% of myself to anyone that I was responsible for. My parents taught me to do everything to the best of my ability and I certainly believe that that qualifies here. Not everyone that you look to hire has the same belief system or attitude, so I have to be very, very careful as to whom I hire so that they represent my service the same as I do.

Some of the positive recommendations can be bathtub bars or a bathtub that opens from the front, a lift seat for the toilet, and, if financially feasible, a stair lift. Each and every one of these accoutrements allow for safer accessibility to household items required for the senior’s health. I even have some items that I can loan my seniors if need be as I was lucky enough to have some donated by Mira’s family when she had passed on.

These are but a few suggestions when a caregiver is keeping in mind that With Age Comes Respect that they can utilize to make the home safer, thus more positive feeling for their client.

About melissalstoneburner

Melissa is the proud mother of two boys. She also like to take care of all of her elderly clients as though they were her actual flesh and blood, too. Melissa began her elderly care business, Time to Care, in August, 2012. Since then, she has successfully seen several clients through life and onto the next life. She writes about what she knows, what she doesn't know, and reveals all the research in between. She believes that elderly care is the best thing she has ever done in life; second only to being a mother!
This entry was posted in Elderly Care and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment